Leetown/Patuxent Staff Directory

Name Title Email Location Phone

Director's Office

O'Connell, Tom Center Director toconnell@usgs.gov Kearneysville, WV (304) 724-4401
Ostroff, Andrea Deputy Center Director aostroff@usgs.go Kearneysville, WV (304) 724-4402
Knapp, Casey Executive Assistant cknapp@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5502

Branch Chiefs

Berlin, Alicia Acting Branch Chief aberlin@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5730
Briggs, Kay Branch Chief kmbriggs@usgs.gov Kearneysville, WV (304) 724-4431
Faulkner, Stephen Branch Chief faulkners@usgs.gov Kearneysville, WV (304) 724-4471
Pardieck, Keith Acting Branch Chief kpardieck@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5843

Center Services

Administrative Services Management

Clark, Staci Administrative Operations Officer staciclark@usgs.gov Kearneysville, WV (304) 724-4404
Adams, Linda Secretary ltadams@usgs.gov Kearneysville, WV (304) 724-4460
Bailey, Mary Student mebailey@usgs.gov Kearneysville, WV (304) 724-4407
Carbone, Karen Admin Operations Assistant kcarbone@usgs.gov Turners Falls, MA (413) 863-3800
Clauss, Barbara Admin Operations Assistant baclauss@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5719
Fineagan, Margaret Budget Analyst mfineagan@usgs.gov Kearneysville, WV (304) 724-4406
Forbes, Lisa Administrative Specialist ljforbes@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5718
Gonzales, Kathy Admin Operations Assistant kjgonzales@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5656
Gorham, Jenele Admin Operations Assistant jgorham@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5503
Greene, Amanda Admin Operations Assistant acgreene@contractor.usgs.gov Kearneysville, WV (304) 724-4417
Hess, Ashley Student anhess@usgs.gov Kearneysville, WV (304) 724-4409
Kackley, Jennifer Admin Operations Assistant jkackley@usgs.gov Kearneysville, WV (304) 724-4430
Lammons, Leslie Admin Operations Assistant llammons@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5743
Owens, Robin Budget Analyst rbowens@usgs.gov Kearneysville, WV (304) 724-4413
Young, Patrick Student phyoung@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5931

Safety

Saucier, Tim Safety Officer tsaucier@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5934

Information Management

Beliew, Shannon Data Management Specialist sbeliew@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5506
Bennett, Randy Information & Data Manager rmbennett@usgs.gov Wellsboro, PA (570) 724-3322 x236

Information Technology

Burton, Edward IT Specialist eburton@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5532
Burton, Theo IT Tech twburton@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5536
Collins, Thomas Computer Assistant tom_collins@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5623
Munch, Raymond IT Specialist rfmunch@usgs.gov Kearneysville, WV (304) 724-4408
Reynolds, James Business Support Specialist I jcreynolds@usgs.gov Kearneysville, WV (304) 724-4416

Facilities

Dodson, Jr., Roy Supervisory Facility Operations Specialist rdodson@usgs.gov Kearneysville, WV (304) 724-4457
Garcia, Rolando Facility Operations Specialist rgarcia@usgs.gov Turners Falls, MA (413) 863-3808
Wicks, Chuck Facilities Manager cewicks@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5616
Huber, George Maintenance Mechanic ghuber@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5613
Kotulka, Adam Maintenance Worker akotulka@usgs.gov Wellsboro, PA (570) 724-3322 x240
Lewis, Eric Maintenance Worker elewis@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5613
Madigan, Patrick Maintenance Mechanic pmadigan@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5613
Parker, Samuel Maintenance Worker sjparker@usgs.gov Kearneysville, WV (413) 863-3844
Stanley, Richard Maintenance Mechanic restanley@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 532-2999

Quantitative Methods & Decision Science

Fitzgerald, Daniel Research Ecologist dbfitzgerald@usgs.gov Kearneysville, WV (304) 724-4478
Hines, James Computer Scientist jhines@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5661
Howell, Paige Biologist phowell@usgs.gov Laurel, MD
Lawson, Abigail Postdoctoral Research Associate alawson@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5722
Letcher, Benjamin Research Ecologist bletcher@usgs.gov Turners Falls, MA (413) 863-3803
Link, William Research Mathematical Statistician wlink@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5631
Lyons, James Research Ecologist jelyons@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5567
Royle, Andy Research Statistician aroyle@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5846
Runge, Michael Research Ecologist mrunge@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5748
Sauer, John Research Wildlife Biologist jrsauer@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5662
Smith, David Research Statistician (Biology) drsmith@usgs.gov Kearneysville, WV (304) 724-4467
Stantial, Michelle Postdoctoral Research Associate mstantial@usgs.gov Laurel, MD
Sussman, Allison Biologist asussman@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5867
Tucker, Anna Postdoctoral Research Associate amtucker@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5722
Underwood, Brian Research Biologist hbunderw@usgs.gov Cortland, NY (607) 753-9391 x7522
Winiarski, Kristopher Postdoctoral Research Associate kwiniarski@usgs.gov Laurel, MD

Science Population Dynamics & Surveillance

Breeding Bird Survey

Byun, Jang BBS Computer Programmer jbyun@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5593
Lutmerding, Michael BBS Wildlife Biologist mlutmerding@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5803
Niven, Daniel BBS Research Wildlife Biologist - Contractor dniven@contractor.usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5676
Poindexter, James BBS Biologist jpoindexter@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5653
Shoja, Tatiana BBS IT Specialist tshoja@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5559
Ziolkowski, David BBS Wildlife Biologist dziolkowski@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5753

Bird Banding Lab

Decomo, Rose BBL Permits Officer rdecomo@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5944
Malorodova, Margarita BBL Computer Programmer mmalorodova@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5824
Singh, Jorawar BBL Database Manager-Contractor jsingh@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5820

Banding Data Management

Celis-Murillo, Antonio Acting BBL Chief acelis-murillo@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5808
Bystrak, Danny BBL Biologist dbystrak@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5796
Jones, Karen BBL Wildlife Data Asst Supervisor kvjones@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5794
Nakash, Elaine BBL Biological Science Technician enakash@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5797
Tuthill, Craig "Tut" BBL Supply Technician ttuthill@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5805

Encounter Data Mangement

Malpass, Jennifer BBL Biologist jmalpass@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5804
Peurach, Suzanne BBL Biologist speurach@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5785
Rogosky, Matthew BBL Biologist mrogosky@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5941
Harvey, Kyra BBL Biologist - Contractor kharvey@contractor.usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5813
McKay, Jennifer BBL Biologist - Contractor jkcay@usgs.gov
Steinbrecher-Hoffmann, Chelsea BBL Biologist - Contractor csteinbrecher-hoffmann@contractor.usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5795

Population Conservation Genetics

Aunins, Aaron Research Fisheries Biologist aaunins@usgs.gov Kearneysville, WV (304) 724-4480
Chesser, R. Terry Research Zoologist tchesser@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (202) 633-4886
Eackles, Michael Biological Science Technician meackles@usgs.gov Kearneysville, WV (304) 724-4570
Johnson, Robin Research IV - Contractor rjohnson1@usgs.gov Kearneysville, WV (304) 724-4573
Kazyak, David Research Fisheries Biologist dkazyak@usgs.gov Kearneysville, WV (304) 724-4577
Lubinski, Barbara Biologist blubinski@usgs.gov Kearneysville, WV (304) 724-4575
Morrison, Cheryl Research Geneticist cmorrison@usgs.gov Kearneysville, WV (304) 724-4464
Salamone, Veronica Science Technician I - Contractor vsalamone@contractor.usgs.gov Kearneysville, WV (304) 724-4456

ARMI & Other Species

Grant, Evan NEARMI Research Wildlife Biologist ehgrant@usgs.gov Turners Falls, MA (413) 863-3823
Brand, Adrianne NEARMI Biological Science Technician abrand.usgs.gov West Virginia (413) 863-2462
Fleming, Jillian NEARMI Wildlife Biologist jefleming@usgs.gov Turners Falls, MA (413) 863-3876
Shafer, Charles NEARMI Biological Science Technician cshafer@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5842
Droege, Sam Wildlife Biologist sdroege@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5840
Woodman, Neal Research Zoologist nwoodman@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (202) 633-1278

Animal Health Diagnostics & Surveillance

Fish Health & Wildlife Toxicology

Blazer, Vicki Research Fish Ecologist vblazer@usgs.gov Kearneysville, WV (304) 724-4434
Brandt, Elizabeth Research Ecologist - Contractor ebrandt@contractor.usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5724
Day, Dan Wildlife Biologist dday@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5708
Densmore, Christine Veterinary Medical Officer cdensmore@usgs.gov Kearneysville, WV (304) 724-4437
Drovetski, Serguei Research Wildlife Biologist sdrovetski@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5724
Hall, Daniel Biological Science Tech Field Asst - Contractor djhall@contractor.usgs.gov Turners Falls, MA (413) 863-3812
Henry, Paula Research Physiologist phenry@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5728
Iwanowicz, Luke Research Biologist liwanowicz@usgs.gov Kearneysville, WV (304) 724-4550
Karouna-Renier, Natalie Research Ecologist nkarouna@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5724
McCormick, Stephen Research Physiologist, Section Leader smccormick@usgs.gov Turners Falls, MA (413) 863-3804
Ottinger, Christopher Research Fish Biologist cottinger@usgs.gov Kearneysville, WV (304) 724-4453
Raines, Clayton Biological Science Technician craines@usgs.gov Kearneysville, WV (304) 724-4452
Rattner, Barnett A. Research Physiologist brattner@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5671
Regish, Amy Research Physiologist aregish@usgs.gov Turners Falls, MA (413) 863-3809
Schill, W. Bane Research Chemist wschill@usgs.gov Kearneysville, WV (304) 724-4438
Schultz, Sandra Biological Science Technician sschultz@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5927
Sperry, Adam Biological Science Technician asperry@usgs.gov Kearneysville, WV (304) 724-4455
Vyas, Nimish Research Biologist nvyas@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5721
Walsh, Heather Research Fish Biologist hwalsh@usgs.gov Kearneysville, WV (304) 724-4445

Animal Operations

Olsen, Glenn Veterinarian golsen@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5603
Caldwell, Carlyn Biological Science Technician ccraldwell@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5604

Animal Care

Mickley, Randall Supervisory Biologist rmickley@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5602
Doyle, Robert Biological Science Technician rdoyle@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5755
Maxey, Mary Biological Science Technician mmaxey@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5725
Peregoy, Sharon Biological Science Technician speregoy@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5755

Ecological Patterns & Processes

Landscape Ecology

Alcott, Derrick Fish Biologist dalcott@usgs.gov Turners Falls, MA (413) 863-3807
Carr, Joel Research Ecologist jcarr@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5710
Castro-Santos, Theodore Research Ecologist tcastrosantos@usgs.gov Turners Falls, MA (413) 863-3838
Dubreuil, Todd Ecologist tdubreuil@usgs.gov Turners Falls, MA (413) 863-3869
Freeman, Mary Research Ecologist mcfreeman@usgs.gov Athens, GA (706) 542-3499
Frye, Micaela Biological Science Technician mfrye@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5500
Ginsberg, Howard Research Ecologist hginsberg@usgs.gov Kingston, RI (401) 874-4537
Guntenspergen, Glenn Research Ecologist glenn_guntenspergen@usgs.gov Duluth,MN (218) 720-4307
Haro, Alexander Research Ecologist aharo@usgs.gov Turners Falls, MA (413) 863-3806
Hitt, Than Research Fish Biologist nhitt@usgs.gov Kearneysville, WV (304) 724-4463
Hockaday, Alyssa Biological Science Technician - Contractor ahockaday@contractor.usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5696
Iwanowicz, Deborah Research Fish Biologist diwanowicz@usgs.gov Kearneysville, WV (304) 724-4439
Kelly, Zachary Biological Science Aid zkelly@usgs.gov Kearneysville, WV (304) 724-4459
Kieffer, Micah Research Fishery Biologist mkieffer@usgs.gov Turners Falls, MA (413) 863-3817
Maloney, Kelly Research Ecologist kmaloney@usgs.gov Kearneysville, WV (304) 724-4579
Marion, Jeffrey Research Biologist jeff_marion@usgs.gov Blacksburg, VA (540) 231-6603
Mulligan, Kevin Research Hydraulic Engineer kmulligan@usgs.gov Turners Falls, MA (304) 724-4464
Neckles, Hilary Research Ecologist hneckles@usgs.gov Augusta, ME (207) 626-6619
Noreika, John Hydraulic Engineer jnoreika@usgs.gov Turners Falls, MA (413) 863-3839
O'Donnell, Matthew Research Ecologist modonnell@usgs.gov Turners Falls, MA (413) 863-3868
Prosser, Diann Research Wildlife Biologist dprosser@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5914
Rodway, Evan Biological Science Technician erodway@usgs.gov Kearneysville, WV (304) 724-4474
Roger, Karli Fish Biologist kmrogers@usgs.gov Kearneysville, WV (304) 724-4473
Snyder, Craig Research Ecologist csnyder@usgs.gov Kearneysville, WV (304) 724-4468
Sullivan, Jeffery Biologist jdsullivan@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5732
Twedt, Daniel Research Wildlife Biologist dan_twedt@usgs.gov Memphis, TN (901) 327-0174 x3
Walk, Stephen Electronics Technician swalk@usgs.gov Turners Falls, MA (413) 863-3842
Walters, David Biological Science Technician davidwalters@contractor.usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5647

Remote Sensing & Geospatial Analysis

Gordon, Stephanie Geographer sgordon@usgs.gov Kearneysville, WV (703) 336-2793
Gressler, Ben Contractor bgressler@contractor.usgs.gov Kearneysville, WV (304) 724-4400
Krause, Kevin Fish Biologist kkrause@usgs.gov Kearneysville, WV (304) 724-4472
Young, John Research Biologist (Biogeography/GIS) jyoung@usgs.gov Kearneysville, WV (304) 724-4469

Emeritus & Volunteers

Emeritus & Voluteers

Beyer, W. Nelson Emeritus nbeyer@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5703
Cahoon, Donald Emeritus dcahoon@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5523
Dawson, Deanna Emeritus ddawson@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5642
Gardner, Alfred Emeritus agardner@usgs.gov Washington, DC (202) 633-1276
Hatfield, Jeffrey Emeritus jhatfield@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5633
Honeyfield, Dale Emeritus honeyfie@usgs.gov Wellsboro, PA (570) 724-3322 x233
Lowe, Peter Emeritus plowe@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5705
McAuley, Daniel Emeritus dmcauley@usgs.gov Orono, ME (207) 581-3008
Nichols, James Emeritus jnichols@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5660
Perry, Matthew Emeritus mperry@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5622
Spendelow, Jeffrey Emeritus jspendelow@usgs.gov Laurel, MD (301) 497-5665

Return to Top

Leetown/Patuxent Addresses:

(For Gabrielson, Vet Hospital & Crane Shop)
USGS Patuxent Wildlife Research Center
12100 Beech Forest Road
Laurel, MD 20708

USGS Patuxent Wildlife Research Center--Beltsville Lab
BARC--EAST, Bldg. 308
10300 Baltimore Ave.
Beltsville, MD 20708

USGS Leetown Science Center
11649 Leetown Road
Kearneysville, WV 25430

USGS S.O. Conte Anadromous Research Center
One Migratory Way
Turners Falls, MA 01376

USGS LSC Aquatic Ecology Laboratory
176 Straight Run Rd
Wellsboro, PA 1690

USGS Patuxent Wildlife Research Center
Natural Resources Research Institute
5013 Miller Trunk Highway
Duluth, MN 55811

USGS Patuxent Wildlife Research Center
University of Rhode Island
Woodward Hall, PLS
Kingston, RI 02881

USGS Patuxent Wildlife Research Center
950 Getwell Bldg 8 Suite 208
Memphis, TN 38111

USGS Patuxent Wildlife Research Center
196 Whitten Road
Augusta, ME 04330

USGS Tunison Acquatic Lab
3075 Gracie Rd
Cortland, NY 13045

USGS Patuxent Wildlife Research Center
Virginia Polytechnic Institute
304 Cheatham Hall, 0324
Blacksburg, VA 24061

USGS Patuxent Wildlife Research Center
Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources
University of Georgia
Athens, GA 30602

USGS Patuxent Wildlife Research Center
York Village Building 6-Suite C
69 Grove St. Extension
Orono, ME 04469-5784