USGS
Patuxent Home

Accession Number 5004189

Title Preparation of second edition of the handbook of ecotoxicology

Project Description The need for a second edition of this handbook evolved in response to the success of the first

edition; according to CRC Press the book has been one of their best-selling titles in the

environmental lineand the professional environmental community eagerly awaits a new edition of

the book. The second edition of Handbook of Ecotoxicology will offer over 40 chapters with

contributions from over 50 selected international experts. The book will be divided into five major

sections: I. Quantifying and Measuring Ecotoxicological Effects, II. Contaminant Sources and

Effects, III. Case Histories and Ecosystem Surveys, IV. Methods for Making Estimates and

Predictability in Ecotoxicology, and V. Special Issues in Ecotoxicology. New concepts and

methodology will be presented for diverse types of aquatic and terrestrial ecotoxicity test protocols

for both controlled and field assessments. Chapters will be offered on diverse topics such as

sediment and soil ecotoxicity, landscape indicators, biomonitoring and use of current

bioindicators. The roles of deforestation and global warming, pathogens and disease in

ecotoxicology, abiotic factors, urban runoff, predictive ecotoxicology, population modeling and

restoration ecology will be discussed.

Keywords case histories, contaminants, ecotoxicology, estimates, handbook, methods, predictability,

Principal David J Hoffman, USGS Patuxent Wildlife Research Center: david_hoffman@usgs.gov; Barnett A

Investigators Rattner, USGS Patuxent Wildlife Research Center: barnett_rattner@usgs.gov; G. A Burton,

Wright State University: allen.burton@wright.edu; John J Cairns, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and

State University: cairnsb@vt.edu; Peter H Albers, USGS Patuxent Wildlife Research Center:

pete_albers@usgs.gov; W. N Beyer, USGS Patuxent Wildlife Research Center:

nelson_beyer@usgs.gov; Ronald Eisler, USGS Patuxent Wildlife Research Center:

ronald_eisler@usgs.gov; Gary H Heinz, USGS Patuxent Wildlife Research Center:

gary_heinz@usgs.gov; Mark J Melancon, USGS Patuxent Wildlife Research Center:

mark_melancon@usgs.gov; Oliver H Pattee, USGS Patuxent Wildlife Research Center:

hank_pattee@usgs.gov; John R Sauer, USGS Patuxent Wildlife Research Center:

john_sauer@usgs.gov; Donald W Sparling, USGS Patuxent Wildlife Research Center:

don_sparling@usgs.gov;

Navigate PWRC SIS projects by Accession Number: First Previous Next Last

Return to SIS Projects Listing

Nav Bar link SIS List Nav Bar Link Patuxent Nav Bar Link Biological Resources Nav Bar Link USGS Nav Bar Link Interior Navigation Bar